Critical Care

Critical Care

The Wallace Conerly Critical Care Hospital houses five specialty care units—four intensive care units and the bone marrow transplant unit. The 92-bed Conerly facility, known as the critical care tower, is connected to University of Mississippi Medical Center's University Hospital.

UMMC is Mississippi's only designated Level 1 trauma center and has trauma surgery faculty on site 24 hours a day. In addition to the trauma service provided, UMMC also has four specialized intensive care units:

Each intensive care unit has access to board-certified intensivists 24 hours a day, and each ICU has a specialized team to manage patients with diagnoses including, but not limited to, trauma, sepsis, shock, respiratory failure, cardiac diseases and surgeries, stroke, and traumatic brain injuries.

In addition to the advanced technology used in the bedside care of patients in our intensive care units, additional patient monitoring is provided by an electronic ICU (eICU),a remote monitoring center staffed with experienced ICU nurses and board-certified critical care providers. 

Related information from the Mayo Clinic Health Library

Content From Mayo Clinic

Featured Mayo Clinic Video

© 1998 - 2017 Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research. All rights reserved. Terms of Use