Recent Events

Scroll down for the latest nursing news from UMMC.

UMMC nurses take top honors at 2015 Nightingale Awards

2015 nightingale awards

The Nightingale Awards, presented by the Mississippi Nurses Foundation and the Mississippi Nurses' Association, took place March 2 at the Marriot in downtown Jackson.

More than 500 turned out to honor nurses from across the state, including five UMMC nurses who took home top honors, one being the coveted Nurse of Distinction Award (formerly the Nurse of the Year Award).

Pictured above are award winners from UMMC, from left, Adyn Dancy, Nurse Rookie of the Year; Dennis Demesa, Inpatient Clinical Practice Nurse of the Year; Joy Akanji, Nurse in Non-traditional Setting of the Year; Denise Adams, Nurse of Distinction; and Dr. James Polson, Advanced Practice Nurse of the Year​.


Congratulations to our January 2015 DAISY winners!

DAISY winners 2015

The DAISY Award is a global program established by the Barnes Family in 2000 that rewards and celebrates the extraordinary clinical skill and compassionate care given by nurses every day. UMMC has been a proud DAISY Award Hospital Partner since December 2009, recognizing up to four nurses with this special honor every other month.

Both of our DAISY winners in January 2015 were from the Adult Progressive Care Unit 4 North. Congratulations, Patrice and Jeremy!

Pictured: 4 North DAISY winners Patrice Donald (right) and Jeremy Phillips with Chief Nursing Executive Officer Terri Gillespie.

Congratulations, 2014 Nightingale winners!

2014 Nightingale Award Winners.jpg

The Office of Nursing Excellence would like to congratulate the winners of the Mississippi Nurses Association 2014 Nightingale Awards. More than 500 people turned out to honor nurses from across the state at this memorable, black tie event. UMMC made a great showing as usual, taking home top honors in five of the 11 categories we entered. In addition, Dr. Barbara Rogers was inducted into the Hall of Fame.

2014 winners included: Sarah Gilbert, Clinical Practice Nurse of the Year; Dr. Barbara Boss, Nurse Faculty Member of the Year; Dr. Kristi Henderson, Nurse Innovator of Year; Dr. Deborah Konkle-Parker, Nurse Researcher of the Year; Jacqueline Carrillo, Nurse of the Year and Dr. Barbara Rogers, MNA Hall of Fame Inductee.

Pictured: Back row (L-R): UMMC Nightingale Award winners Dr. Barbara Boss, Dr. Barbara Rogers, Sarah Gilbert. Middle row, Dr. Kristi Henderson and Dr. Deborah Konkle-Parker. Front row, Jacqueline Carrillo